Fashion Sense

Emma is totally into fashion. The other night she was helping me pack for an out-of-town conference, and she took the opportunity to educate me on the importance of fashion to my professional success. The conversation went like this:

“Oh mom! You have to show them that you are a totally hip fashionista.” (By “them” she was referring to the people at my conference.) “You have to show them that you are a smart professor AND a fashionista–so they will like you.”

I found her assumption that I was a “smart professor” funny and flattering, since I am far from being “smart” or a professor. But I decided not to address that detail since it’s all the same to her. And it was beside the point. I responded,

“Oh yeah? I don’t know that I would call myself a fashionista. What should I wear that will be super smart and fashionable?”

She pulled three of my most colorful shirts off the top rack of my closet. (Thinking back, this is a bit odd. I didn’t think she was tall enough to reach the top rack, but she literally “swooped” three shirts off the rack with complete ease.)

“These are so perfect! They look so professional and hip! And this bag is soooo you!”

I said, “Those are fabulous! But I only need one outfit because I’ll only be there one day.”

I should have anticipated what she said next. “Well, of course you have to wear a different outfit to every meeting!”

Of course, right? She is the best.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Chesney Moore
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 19:28:53

    She sounds so much more grown up than the last time I was up there!! Too cute! I love all of Emma’s deep thoughts : ) Kids are so smart! And so are you!

    Reply

Leave a comment